There’s A Fairy in My Garden Patch.

20160114_140824
Illustration © Garth Williams.

 

 

There’s a fairy in my garden patch

Her manners are most foul

She throws rockses through my window

And plucks featherses from my owl.

 

My owl’s name is Beatrice

And she’s quite a precious thing

She likes to sit ‘neath my window

And all the day she likes to sing.

 

But that fairy tortures my owl

And there’s never a moment’s peace

She takes the feathers she plucked yesterday

And pastes them back with grease.

 

I’m growing tired of that fairy

And I fear I may do her some harm

If she doesn’t stop throwing rockses

I just might chop off her arm.

 

FINIS.

 

Text © C.M. Blackwood 2016

7 thoughts on “There’s A Fairy in My Garden Patch.

    1. I know — right? I love all the illustrations from “The Golden Books Treasury of Elves and Fairies.” I thought this one would be good for this poem, which started in my head while I was brushing my teeth 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

