Guest Author: Candace Vianna

Good evening, readers and writers. With the new month comes a new batch of writers to Blackwood’s Spotlight, and first up is Candace Vianna!

author_candace_vianna

  1. Everyone has a story about why they love to write. What’s yours?

If I could give a deep answer, full of writerly angst and beauty, I would; but truthfully, it’s one of the few jobs where I can drink coffee and sit around in boxers all day.

 

  1. If there’s a particular book you’re trying to market right now, will you tell us about it?

To date I have published two books.

My debut novel, “The Science of Loving,” was a romantic comedy about a shy biologist and an edgy, tattooed architect. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking… an architect? Well this is how Leslie Jacobs, a supporting character who’s currently in the process of getting her own story, described him.

“You’ve got this dangerous bad boy, don’t mess with me or I’ll f*** you up edginess. If you were any edgier, we’d all be bleeding. It’s like architects are edgy-lite, while you’re  industrial-strength concentrate, eat-a-hole in my panties edgy.”

You get the idea…

Because I was genre hopping, when I recently published my novella, “Dead Dwight: a dark comedy,” I did so under the pseudonym, E.V. Iverson.

“Dead Dwight” will definitely not be everyone’s cup of tea. It’s definitely not a romance. It’s a hillbilly zombie satire with a  twisted sense of humor I’m not sure everyone will appreciate (I’m a sick, sick girl.) Imagine a mashup of the television show “My Name is Earl” and the movies “Sean of the Dead” and “Driving Miss Daisy.”

Hey, I never claimed I was normal.

 

  1. Most authors in the market nowadays have experienced their fair share of ups and downs. Will you tell us how the positive moments make up for the negative ones?

Truthfully, I’ve always found this question a bit nonsensical. I’m not saying this to be mean, but I’ve never understood the assumption that unrelated events somehow offset each other? How can you appreciate the joys of the moment if you’re dwelling on past disappointments?

Have I struggled at times? Certainly. Growing up with an undiagnosed learning disability wasn’t easy, but it did force me to develop skills that I could pass on to my children to make their lives easier. Would I have chosen to have a special needs child? Hell no, but I would change a hair on my boy’s head.

But here’s the thing, I believe that positive things happen to positive people. And if you’re busy focusing on the negative, you’re likely missing some good things right in front of you.

 

  1. If you could say one thing to the whole world, and have each and every person hear you – what would you say? It could be about your books, or anything at all in the whole universe.

Get out and VOTE! Not just in the main elections, but the mid-terms as well. And do your homework, because the down-ticket is just as, if not more, important than the main ticket. When they say politics is local, it’s not just about stump speeches. What are the views of the people setting local policy? Is that guy wanting to be a district court judge going to be unbiased? Is he even qualified? These are the things that will have a direct impact on your daily lives.

 

  1. Who’s your favorite author? Are you more into modern or classic literature? What do you think of modern literature on the whole?

I don’t have one favorite author; I have many; and for many different reasons. There’s poetry in Thomas Paine’s call to action in “The Crisis;” awful beauty in the horror of Stephen King, and Ray Bradbury’s “Rocket Summer” is nothing short of brilliant. While I prefer the immediacy in modern writing, I do think it can become too simplistic when we’re not careful, dumbing down the vocabulary at the expense of more evocative passages.

Very nice! Personally, I know I’m super-interested in something termed a hillbilly zombie satire. How could that not be entertaining?

Hope you guys enjoyed today’s interview. To contact Candace Vianna, or to learn more about her work, check out the links below!

 

 I enjoy getting out and meeting my readers, so if any of you are coming to San Diego, CA; give me a shout just don’t try to sell me anything:
Candace.Vianna.Writes@gmail.com

Both of my books are available on Amazon and in the Kindles Unlimited library:

The Science of Loving
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MXC0E2C
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00MXC0E2C

Dead Dwight: a dark comedy
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F2ZCTCO
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01F2ZCTCO

Amazon Author page:
https://www.amazon.com/Candace-Vianna/e/B00N05FF66/

You can check out my blog (fair warning, I take adolescent glee in playing with profanity) at:
http://candaceviannawrites.com/

On Twitter:
@CviannaWrites

Facebook :
https://www.facebook.com/candace.vianna

GoodReads:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8507140.Candace_Vianna

7 thoughts on “Guest Author: Candace Vianna

Leave a Reply

