Guest Author: Homer Buford

Hi, everybody. Here’s the final installment (for now) of Blackwood’s Magazine’s Indie Author Spotlight. Today, we have with us Mr. Homer Buford: a lovely, eccentric fellow who writes for the love of writing.

220px-homer_british_museum
Mr. Buford’s namesake, Blind Homer.
  1. Everyone has a story about why they love to write. What’s yours?

Whales dive to free depths, Birds fly to free heights,
I write to free prisoners.

 

  1. If there’s a particular book you’re trying to market right now, will you tell us about it?

My book  THE PRISONERS OF NAGA, is one  I wish to place into the hands of everyone who has ever looked into the clouded Milky Way and saw far deeper meaning than in the towering high rise forest of apartments, offices, clinics, wards, and playschools and seen more majesty in that nebulous road marker than the dirty and corrosive  shipping lanes of oil tankers.
I wish to reach those who find a hint of their true self in every night time dance; every polar flare, every gust of magnetic wind; to everyone whose atoms hear the MUSIC OF THE SPHERES; to everyone  waiting with abated breath to hear their name called, I write for them.
In PRISONERS OF NAGA, I take some lonely, soul seeking Soldiers of Vietnam out of the jungles and into THE LIBRARY located in a part of the Milky way called BLAUPUNCT, where they do not find mere SELF ,but discover a higher and greater destiny than the mortal mind [a prisoner] has never accessed; to see what the flesh of the eye has ever longed  to see; Home.

 

  1. Most authors in the market nowadays have experienced their fair share of ups and downs. Will you tell us how the positive moments make up for the negative ones?

Most authors experience THE MOUNTAIN.
It is a bitter obstacle course actually built by them!
It is dutifully, and religiously piled by borrowed earthmovers to layer the Mountain with reminder after reminder of failures-a mountain of failures.
This is all taught to them; failure.
First word Baby understands after mama? “NO!”

 

  1. If you could say one thing to the whole world, and have each and every person hear you – what would you say? It could be about your books, or anything at all in the whole universe.

I have not a single thing to say to the whole Island of MAN should my book reach that shore; I have MANY things to say,
Beginning with this simple lesson: wasps built paper nests long before paper was “invented”  and the young wasp never saw the construction ‘blueprint’ in its nursery. (BLAUPUNCT)why do you need instruction?
Writers have written in the stars and  they wrote in clay when necessary: written any good clay lately?

 

  1. Who’s your favorite author? Are you more into modern or classic literature? What do you think of modern literature on the whole?

My favorite Author has not yet written. It could be you.

Modern literature is a denigration and holds no place in THE LIBRARY. Today’s authors are too obsessed with filthy language, demeaning sarcasm, gory murder, demonic creatures  and Disneylike sorcery- nothing that edifices Mankind.
Today’s literature is to readers what Rap  is to black music. A mental maelstrom.

 

And there we have it! That was really interesting. Homer really has some one-of-a-kind views!

For a look at The Prisoners of Naga, click here

Thanks for reading, everybody!

20 thoughts on “Guest Author: Homer Buford

  1. While the above seems a quite damning indictment of the state of modern literature, where can I safely message you about how disappointed I am about OUAT Season Six sneaky peeks? ~ P ~

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was unfaithful to it halfway through S2. You kidding, we talked about not wanting anything that wasn’t OUAT worthy in life. It was right around the time you told me not to give up on Darcy. Very disappointed in Aladdin’s whole casting/character. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I kind of see what you’re talking about there. I know somebody, too, who’s disappointed that there was no Abu. She was like, “Where’s the monkey?” I said, “There’s no monkey here.” She just kept looking for the monkey, though. Couldn’t accept it.

        Like

      3. I’m not all that bothered about the monkey. In fact the hourglass scene was a total joke… My main issue is with that accent, I know it could be classed as Midlands English, but it’s just bloody awful frankly. The actor himself is passingly cute.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah, I sort of noticed the accent thing. Once is most definitely my favorite show, but they have so many storylines during a single season, I think sometimes they just have to do the best they can to make each story as believable as possible. Overall, I think they accomplish it pretty well. I really enjoyed this Sunday’s episode.

        Like

      5. Well I’d probably be a bit delayed if I watched it/ got back into it because of me being in the U.K. remember? I think they’re overdoing it with all the sub-plots from what I can tell, it’s becoming a bit of a hydra, I hope they pull it together because it’s a great concept.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Hey P.! Sorry it took me so long to drop you a line. I have very bad A.D.D. (I see shiny things, and I flit away for months at a time, without remembering where I was to begin with) :0

        Like

Leave a Reply

