Posted in #ASMSG, #IARTG, independent authors, indie authors, informative, Uncategorized, writing

Re-Inventing Yourself as a Writer

I haven’t been blogging over the past couple months, but I intend to change that today. To start, I’d like to share a few of the things I’ve learned recently.

I think it’s fair to say that every writer who’s experienced commercial success has had to undertake the task, at least once, of “re-inventing” themselves. I came across a really neat writing resource today, called Bookfox, which is written by author John Fox.

Fox explains in his bio that he’s all too familiar with rejection slips. After he got enough of them, though, he started thinking to himself, maybe it wasn’t everyone else who was wrong. Maybe he really needed to work on his writing.

He undertook the earnest office of learning from his failures, and using his mistakes to improve his writing. Eventually, he started winning prizes for his work.

Click here to have a look at Bookfox. (It’s filled with lots of great resources.)

It took me a while to learn the truth: we’re really never at the peak of our success as writers. Maybe monetarily, but not creatively. With every week that passes, and every story that we write, our works grows, takes a more pronounced shape, and gains more vivid colors. It’s like a forever-climbing house of cards that never falls down.

In a word, if you’re not succeeding as a writer, take another look at your work. It may very well be that you just haven’t caught your break yet — but it may also be that you need some re-inventing. I know that was the case for me.

 

Author:

Indie author looking to connect with readers and writers. Find me on Twitter and Facebook.

19 thoughts on “Re-Inventing Yourself as a Writer

  1. Yes, I think you’ve hit something profound here! And another thing I believe is imperative is to read the work of writers whose genre interests you. Pat Conroy opened my eyes to the attitude one should bring to the task of reading, when he suggested that readers should “read deeply.” And I’ll say one more thing here: I had the pleasure of meeting the author, Ron Rash, last October. Look him up, if you’re unfamiliar with him, but let’s just say he’s currently one of the preeminent American writers alive today. He told me it took him 30 years to get where he is now. I met his sister, and she said,” It’s been a long road for Ron.” The bottom line is he stayed the course.
    He began with mastering the art of the short story, and the rest is history! Nice post today. Nice to see you back.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much, Claire. I’ll definitely have to look Ron up. But yes, I completely agree about reading other authors whose genre interests you. When someone asked Mrs. Fletcher (Angela Lansbury on Murder She Wrote) what she recommended for a writer, she said, “Read, read, read all you can!” She was particularly fond of P.D. James, being a mystery author. I’ve really been trying to dig into the prime examples of what’s well-written. Learn, learn, and learn some more! Thanks again, Claire.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a problem balancing writing and reading… if I write I don’t read nearly as much as I would like to and if I read I don’t write very much. But I have read a lot already I suppose. As to being successful I wouldn’t have the foggiest. Thank you C M good post and I look forward to seeing the invented you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good to have you back CM. Missed your posts. Everyone loses their writing mojo from time to time I think, sometimes it can be difficult to get back into the zone. Just pleased you’ve rediscovered your interest. Scribe on ………

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

